JEFF KOONS AT THE NEWPORT STREET GALLERY

On Saturday I went to the Jeff Koons: Now, Exhibition at the Newport Street Gallery. Again I had seen this advertised in newspapers but mostly on social media such as Instagram and Facebook.

This was instantly an exhibition I knew I would enjoy and would help me with writing my final essay as it included 3d installations and was a huge hit with sharing and posting on social media. All of his pieces were made out of metal and it was insane going up close to his sculptures and seeing how detailed they were to make out they were plastic. The whole idea of illusion to cheat the human eye and make it think it is one material but is actually something completely different was so clever.

The best sculpture hands down was the giant balloon dog which could be seen as soon as you walk into the exhibition. The sheer scale and deception of it being a huge balloon was really helping me think of ideas for my Guerrilla Advertising essay.

img_0242img_0241img_0240img_0239

Leave a Reply

